Website Manager

California District 33


The 2011 District 33 Award and Recognition Dinner was held on May 7th at the Mission Valley Resort.

We had 2 special guest speakers, Greg Lopez,Industry Manager for the Active Network and JimGerstenslager, Little League Western Regional Director. Both guest speakers shared stories of working with Little League volunteers and their experiences at the Little League Regional and World Series tournaments.

District awards were handed out to special individuals that have showed outstanding dedication of Little League Baseball and Softball in our San Diego area. District 33 is proud to present the following awards to these outstanding volunteers in our local leagues for 2011.

The District Service Award

These awards are given to individuals nominated by their league that has several years of outstanding service to their league as well as having impacted the District by serving the other leagues in some capacity, usually by being involved in tournaments or something district wide. The 2011 District Service Award recipients are...

Mike Keller
San Carlos Little League

Phil Sterns
Mission Trails Little League

John Perretta
North Park Little League

Dan Esqueda
San Carlos Little League

Congratulations to Shondra Jerabek from Murphy Canyon Little League who was unable to attend the dinner. If you have a photo of Shondra receiving her District Service award on opening day, please send it to [email protected] and we'll posted it.

The Umpire of the Year Award

This award is given to an outstanding umpire recognized for his skill and dedication to umpiring for that year. The 2011 Umpire of the Year Award recipients are...

Bob LaFave
San Carlos Little League

Rick Dempsey
Patriot Jr/Sr League

The Spirit of Little League Coaches Award
This award is given to two managers or coaches that demonstrate the double goal coaching that role models the spirit of Little League. The 2011 Spirit of Little League Coaches Awards recipients are...

Mario Torres
Kearny Mesa Little League

Marty Richardson
San Carlos Little League

Scott Simmons Leadership Award
The criteria for the award is for someone that has impacted the local league, especially in bringing about compliance to Little League rules and regulations, has set a standard in regards to choosing managers and coaches with character, has demonstrated a willingness to address issues such as poor sportsmanship either among spectators, coaches, managers or players. To demonstrate courage and character in dealing with issues at the local league level. The 2011 Scott Simmons Award recipient is...

Phil Sterns
Mission Trails Little League

The Jim Jones Award
This award is given to the outstanding volunteer in our District. It goes to someone that has showed commitment and sacrifice above and beyond. The 2011 Jim Jones recipient is...

Sami Kern
Chollas Lake Little League