Website Manager

California District 33



Our annual District Awards Dinner was held on May 7th at the Sheraton Harbor Island Bay Tower. In honor of the San Diego Padres hosting the All-Star game in July, our theme was "All-Star" and many dressed the part. A special "thank you" goes out to Angela Engquist, for putting together another outstanding and memorable event.

We were honored to have Mark and Linda Bernstein, as our special guests this year. Mark is the Western Region Chief Umpire. Mark shared his insights to volunteering in the Little League program.

We also shared a moment of silence for Joe Scholoss of North Park Little League. Joe will always be remembered for his dedication to youth sports in San Diego for over 60 years. As an honor to Joe's legacy, District 33 has named our coaches award after him.

Gifts donated by leagues and staff were raffled off and a 50/50 draw close to $400.00 was handed out to one lucky winner (Andy Carver from Serra Mesa Little League).

District awards were handed out to special individuals that have showed outstanding dedication to Little League Baseball and Softball in our San Diego area. Be sure to thank them when you see them at the fields for all their hard work and dedication to the youth of San Diego. District 33 was proud to present the following awards to these outstanding volunteers in our local leagues for 2016. Dan Esqueda, Pete Gregorivic and Shannon Thomas (Assistant District Administrators) had the honors of handing out this year's awards.

The District Service Award

These awards are given to individuals nominated by their league, who have several years of outstanding service to their league. They have also impacted the District by serving the other leagues in some capacity, usually by being involved in tournaments or something District wide.

The 2016 District Service Award recipients are...

Andrew Lindbeck
Serra Mesa Little League

Ric Castañon
Kearny Mesa Little League

Dennis Gildenhaus
Allied Gardens Little League

Tracy McCormick
La Mesa National Little League

Kristal Gordon
Lake Murray Little League

The Umpire of the Year Award & Umpire Service Award
These awards are given to outstanding umpires who are recognized for his/her skills and dedication to umpiring for that year. Mark Beall (District Umpire Consultant) had the honor of handing out these awards. The 2016 Umpire of the Year & Umpire Service Award recipients are...

Ricky Mullberry
Lake Murray Little League

Olivier Wardendaar
Kearny Mesa Little League

The Joe Schloss Memorial Coaches Award
This award is given to managers or coaches that demonstrate leadership in local leagues with Loyality, Courage and Character. The 2016 Joe Schloss Memorial Coaches Award recipients are...

Dave Gordon
Lake Murray Little League

Ron Cervi
Tierrasanta Little League

Mark Sobelewski
North Park Little League

Scott Simmons Leadership Award
The criteria for this award is for someone that has impacted the local league, especially in bringing about compliance to Little League rules and regulations. They have set a standard in regards to choosing managers and coaches with character, demonstrated a willingness to address issues such as poor sportsmanship either among spectators, coaches, managers or players. To demonstrate courage and character in dealing with issues at the local league level. The 2016 Scott Simmons Award recipient is...

Nancy Hemming
Patriot League

The Jim Jones Award
This award is given to the outstanding volunteer in our District. It goes to someone that has showed commitment and sacrifice above and beyond. The 2016 Jim Jones Award recipient is...

Bob Diosdado
Allied Gardens Little League