Website Manager

California District 33

2023 Dinner

Our annual District Awards Dinner was held on May 6th at the Handlery Hotel. Our theme for this year was "Hawaiian" and many dressed the part. A special "thank you" goes out to Angela Engquist, for putting together another outstanding and memorable event.

We were honored to have Steve Vickery as our special guest speaker this year. Steve shared his experience as one of the top 4 winningest baseball coaches in San Diego. It was a pleasure to hear stories from Steve about his baseball coaching career. Thank you Steve for sharing some memorable and some unmemorable ones.

This year's theme was Hawaiian and nearly everyone wore a Hawaiian shirt or dress fit for the occasion. It was especially hard to determine the winner of the costume contest. But in the end the winner of the Hawaiian contest went to Laura Sheppard from Sunshine Little League for bringing her ukulele and serenading the crowd during dinner.

Gifts cards were donated by leagues and were raffled off to lucky winning tickets and a 50/50 draw for $205.00 was handed out to one lucky winner, Estevan Hernandez from Rolando Little League.

Pete Gregorivic and Mark Beall, Assistant District Administrators 
had the honors of presenting the following 2023 awards to these outstanding volunteers in our local leagues. Not all award winners were present at the dinner, some photos were taken at various locations around District 33. Be sure to thank the award recipients when you see them at the fields for all their hard work and dedication to the youth of San Diego.


The District Service Award

These awards are given to individuals nominated by their league, who have several years of outstanding service to their league. They have also impacted the District by serving the other leagues in some capacity, usually by being involved in tournaments or something District wide. The District Service Award recipients are...


Anna Johnson
Rolando Little League

Ken Saxer
Mid City Little League

Kristen Frelke
Lake Murray Little League
Mark Hopkins
North Park Little League

Van Wong
Kearny Mesa Little League

Tori Stark
Murphy Canyon Little League

The Umpire of the Year Award & Umpire Service Award

These awards are given to outstanding umpires who are recognized for his/her skills and dedication to umpiring for that year. The  Umpire of the Year & Umpire Service Award recipients are...

Umpire of The Year
Robinaire Ruiz
Allied Gardens Little League
Umpire Service AwardJohn Nathenson
North Park Little League

The Joe Schloss Memorial Coaches Award

This award is given to managers or coaches that demonstrate leadership in local leagues with Loyalty, Courage and Character. The Joe Schloss Memorial Coaches Award recipients are...

Gary Robinson
La Mesa National Little League

Sean Coughlin
Mission Trails Little League

Seth Daugherty

Scott Simmons Leadership Award

The criteria for this award is for someone that has impacted the local league, especially in bringing about compliance to Little League rules and regulations. They have set a standard in regards to choosing managers and coaches with character, demonstrated a willingness to address issues such as poor sportsmanship either among spectators, coaches, managers or players. To demonstrate courage and character in dealing with issues at the local league level. The Scott Simmons Award recipient is...


Randy Herold
Mission Trails Little 


The Jim Jones Award
This award is given to the outstanding volunteer in our District. It goes to someone that has showed commitment and sacrifice above and beyond. The Jim Jones Award recipient is...

Ric Castañon
 Mesa Little League